Sunday, August 09, 2009

Sesame Street, thirtysomething and More: This Week on TV CONFIDENTIAL

Author Michael Davis and Emmy-winning writer/producer Joseph Dougherty will be our special guests on the next edition of TV CONFIDENTIAL, premiering Monday, August 10 at 10pm ET, 7pm PT on Shokus Internet Radio, with a rebroadcast Tuesday, August 11, 10pm ET, 7pm PT on Share-a-Vision Radio,

Michael Davis is the author of Street Gang: The Complete History of Sesame Street, a compelling and often comical account of the creation and history of the long-running landmark children’s television series Sesame Street. Michael’s book traces the evolution of the show from its inspiration in the civil rights movement through its many ups and downs, from President Nixon’s attempt to cut off its funding through the meteoric rise of Elmo. Street Gang tells the story of Sesame Street through the many personalities who helped shape it, including series co-creator and Children’s Television Workshop co-founder Joan Ganz Cooney, music composer Joe Raposo, actors and puppeteers Frank Oz (“Cookie Monster,” “Grover,” “Bert”), Kevin Clash (“Elmo”) and Caroll Spinney (“Oscar the Grouch,” “Big Bird”), and Muppets founder, headmaster and ringleader Jim Henson. Michael Davis will be joining us by phone beginning at 10:05pm ET, 7:05pm PT.

Then in our second hour, our guest will be Emmy Award-winning writer, director and producer Joseph Dougherty, whose many credits in television include the groundbreaking ABC-TV series thirtysomething, the acclaimed TNT series Saving Grace starring Holly Hunter, and several full-length motion pictures for HBO. Joseph Dougherty will be with us in the studio beginning at 11:05pm ET, 8:05pm PT.

If you want to be part of our conversation, if you grew up watching Sesame Street, if you remember watching thirtysomething or continue to enjoy Saving Grace, we invite you to join us for our live broadcast this Monday, August 10, at 10pm ET, 7pm PT on Shokus Internet Radio.
Phone number is (888) 746-5875 (or 888 SHOKUS-5).
If you have questions or comments you’d like to send in advance, our email address is

Ed RobertsonCo-Host, TV CONFIDENTIAL
Mon-Sun 10pm ET, 7pm PT Shokus Internet Radio Every other Tuesday at 10pm ET, 7pm PTShare-a-Vision Radio, KSAV.org
Also available as a podcast via iTunes and FeedBurner
Post a Comment